How do you say that? Pt.1

Reading a book, doing great until you come across a name or word you cannot pronounce. I had this problem several time in Lord of the Rings, Harry Potter (Hello, Hermoine), and Sherrilyn Kenyon’s Dark Hunters. It went completely over my head that I did the same thing in my World in Shadows series. Whoops.

Here’s an example.

Mania is a state of abnormally elevated or irritable mood, arousal, and/or energy levels.[1] In a sense, it is the opposite of depression. Mania is a necessary symptom for certain psychiatric diagnoses. The word derives from the Greek μανία (mania), “madness, frenzy”[2] and that from the verb μαίνομαι (mainomai), “to be mad, to rage, to be furious”.[3]

I got that from Wikipedia so you know it has to be the gospel truth.Image

A person can have one mania or several manias.

Wait a second. M-A-N-I-A-S is how I spelled the name of the Vampire Regis (aka the king). If you’ve been saying is as May-nee-uhs, that would be incorrect. My fault, not yours.

I present to you a list of names and terms found in Rising Shadows. The list will grow as the series expands but I’ll address it as it comes so I don’t give away any spoilers. If you have any questions about the series at all, please drop me an email or connect with me on Facebook.

  • Adele: Ah-dell
  • Amalia: Ah-mahl-ya
  • Arcana: Arr-cayn-uh
  • Arcane: Arr-cayn
  • Athan: A-thun
  • Bastien: Bas-tee-in
  • Bonvillian: Bawn-vill-e-in
  • Claude – Clawd
  • Cleary- Kleer-y
  • Ianthe – I-ann-thee
  • Kadema Sidell: Kah-Dee-muh Sye-del
  • Kiril: Key-rill
  • Livia: Liv–ee-uh
  • Madalaina: Mad-ah-Lane-ah
  • Manias Artorius: Muh-Nye-us   Arr-tohr-ee-us
  • Nikolai: Nick-uh-Lie
  • Rachel: Ray-chul
  • Taka: Tah-Kah
  • Tanith: Tan-eth
  • Tsura: Zhur – Ah
  • Varian Caina: Vair-ee-Un   Kay-nuh
  • Winter: When-tur
Leave a Reply

