Entertaining the Universe with my awkwardness.

Today was the first time I’ve been in a brick and mortar bookstore since publishing Rising Shadows. I tend to favor digital books to paper books because I can carry a whole library on my e-reader and its easier. For my birthday last month, my bestie gave me a Barnes and Nobles gift card and it was burning a hole in my pocket. What I found cool was that I recognized a lot of the covers from their original stock photos.

I never noticed before that book covers share components. Sure, I’ve seen a specific couple or model more than once, but now I’ve seen the original photos that were manipulated into those covers. It’s pretty cool, like I was in the loop of a secret organization. Or maybe I was just buzzed on my caramel latte and participating in a caffeine delusion. Meh, whatever.

1e89e6e4d85f1ca6005da580ae16d5d8

It occurred to me that the cover models I used were probably somewhere in here, but I wasn’t going to go through every book. I had a movie to catch and Zac Efron to ogle. Time crunch. *nods*

zac-efron-435

 

In the aisle with me was a woman and her teenage daughter. Wouldn’t you know that one of the two books in the woman’s hand had my cover models. I had to be sure, it was just to perfect a moment not to be cosmic destiny. *Buzzer!* Wrong! Not cosmic destiny, just the universe setting you up for one of those classic embarrassing moments I’m so good at.  The conversation went along the lines of me asking to see the cover, then having to explain why I was being weird and talking in the romance aisle. I don’t understand it, but it’s an unspoken rule that you don’t make eye contact or speak to other in the romance aisle unless they are a blood relative.

After explaining why I was interested in the cover, I realized it sounds like I just tried to name drop myself.

327bbf57eb33244c04dcfb37096d35d4

Yeah, that was uncomfortable. She seemed more confused, but I was embarrassed. I love my book, I love writing, and I love my readers. I don’t like coming across as being pushy or a show-off. Maybe I blew the  whole encounter out of proportion in my head because I’m worried about sounding like an obnoxious braggart. Chalk it up to a learning experience and one more chance I’ve done my part to entertain the universe.

Bow

Leave a Reply

