Quote-Tastic Monday #3

Join us every Monday and share a favorite quote that’s grabbed ya for one reason or another.

Everyone’s welcome to join in. Authors, bloggers, readers. The more the merrier!

Hosted by Herding Cats and Burning Soup

try

The thing about a great romance and true love is that one day you will be parted. Death comes for us all. The thought of losing the ones we love isn’t pleasant. For me, it causes an ache in my heart and I know it is only a shadow of what I will feel on that day. I remember hearing someone say once there is a beauty to be found in grief. How can suffering heartbreak be beautiful? Because it is a tribute to the memory of the love shared. I stumbled across a quote about a year ago from the author C.S. Lewis. He wrote A Grief Observed after the death of his wife. The book is sad and I wouldn’t argue if you called is depressing but to me it is beautiful. Lewis’ love for his wife and subsequent mourning at her passing demonstrates the sort of bond I think many people want to have. Who doesn’t want to know they meant the world to their lover? This is my favorite quote.

“Her absence is like the sky, spread over everything.”

– C.S. Lewis, A Grief Observed

How powerful is that? I’ve told Mr. Blackwood I will have this tattooed on my rib cage next to my heart if he leaves this mortal coil before I do.

0097e49afe4608505a96134a67e7d0fe

6 thoughts on “Quote-Tastic Monday #3

Leave a Reply

