I won’t judge what you read unless…

images

Last night someone was afraid I would judge them over their favorite book. I’ve joked about it in the past, books or characters, but to think a reader was seriously concerned over my reaction saddened me. I cannot speak for other authors, though most that I know are happy you’re reading anything. As for me, I love to read. If I didn’t ready anything I thought another might disdain, then I’d be left with nothing. How freaking sad is that?! I want you to read. I want you to share with me what you liked and what you didn’t. We don’t have to agree because it’s part of what makes you YOU and me ME. The top two books I hear readers unsure about sharing are Twilight and Fifty Shades.

I read both series’. I was entertained. The books don’t live on my limited shelf space but the ones that do might surprise you, LOL! My criteria for if a book was worth reading comes down to if I was entertained.

As a human being I am not without my hard limits (he he, get it? Fifty readers do). Books I WOULD be judge you for aren’t fiction. We read all sorts of stuff in fiction that we wouldn’t approve of or engage in if it were real. When you decide to read from a very specific list of non-fiction for any reason other than writing an article or essay, I will then be a Judgey McJudgerson. The list includes but is not limited too…

  • Pro lifestyle books such as pedophilia, necrophilia, bestiality, etc.

Look, if you’re wanting to have sex or a relationship with someone/something who cannot give consent because they are too young, dead, not human, then I’m not gonna want to hear about the great book you found supporting your desires.

1922198_10152068527018682_135314873_n

  • Justifying Hate.

For college I read a piece of Hitler’s book. I wish I could say it was the only one I could think of out there justifying a belief one race/gender/religion/whatever is supreme. A conversation once came to a screeching halt when the other person started telling me all about how disgusting it was for a white person to allow a black person to touch them. I . Kid. You. Not. My response was along the lines of “What the hell is wrong with you? Get help!” and I left.

1967972-2

Seeing a trend? If you are promoting hate, fear, pain, or oppression in the REAL world, then I want none of it or you. I feel like these are reasonable demands.

giphy

Leave a Reply

